Athletic department, SAAB host annual awards ceremony

Award winners


HANOVER, Ind. – The Hanover College Athletic Department and Student-Athlete Advisory Board (SAAB) hosted their annual awards ceremony Wednesday, May 22, in the Lynn Center for Fine Arts.

For the fourth consecutive year, the SAAB awards were presented in an "ESPY-style" format, with student-athletes nominating and voting for each award. New this year was a ceremony celebrating the senior athletes leaving Hanover College as they were recognized by the athletic department prior to the awards show.

The athletic department also handed out its prestigious honors, including the Dean's and Faculty Representative (FAR) awards, as well as the male and female most outstanding senior athlete and mental attitude awards. The Dean's award goes to the team with the highest cumulative grade-point average, while the FAR award goes to the team with the most improved GPA. For the third time in the past four seasons, the women's soccer program is the recipient of the Dean's award (3.46), while men's cross country improved their GPA from 2017-18 to 2018-19 by 0.266 to win the FAR award.

The individual honors for the athletic department were highlighted by Cam Fails (Cincinnati, Ohio), Jacob Hedrick (Memphis, Ind.) and Erin Trimpe (New Palestine, Ind.), who were named most outstanding male and female athletes, respectively. Fails and Hedrick shared the honor for the men.

Fails, a two-time Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Player of the Year, finishes his stellar Hanover career with five all-American honors. The senior received two preseason national awards prior to the 2018-19 season and was named a postseason all-American by this past March. also named Fails its 2018-19 Great Lakes Region Player of the Year, which assisted in the senior participating in the National Association of Basketball Coaches' (NABC) Reese's Division III National All-Star Game. Fails averaged a conference-best and career-high 20.9 points per game this season, becoming the first Panther to pace the league in scoring in 10 years. He also logged career-best marks in rebounds (4.3), assists (4.3) and steals (2.2) per game. He finished his career with 1,780 points, which ranks fifth all-time at Hanover.

Hedrick improved throughout all four years at Hanover, as he made program history during his final 2018-19 campaign with the cross country and track & field programs. Leading the Harriers in the fall, Hedrick became the first men's runner in school history to win the HCAC Cross Country Championships, plus he was the first men's runner to compete at the NCAA Division III National Championships. The senior also won the Hanover Invitational and was an all-meet performer at the Greater Louisville Classic and Wilmington #JennaStrong Fall Classic, plus was top-20 at the NCAA Division III Great Lakes Championships, which allowed him to qualify for nationals. On the track, Hedrick was a first team all-HCAC selection for indoor and outdoor, winning three of his combined four races at the league meets, including both the 5K and 10K at the outdoor championships which led to him being named the HCAC Most Outstanding Track Athlete. Over his four-year career, Hedrick now holds six individual school records, which saw him break a pair of 35-plus year-old records this year. The team also enjoyed its best performances at the HCAC-hosted events, placing second in all three, which ties or sets the best finish in program history for the HCAC.

Trimpe was not present at the awards ceremony because she was preparing for her second consecutive NCAA Division III Outdoor National Championships appearance. Trimpe cleared a school-record mark of 3.77m in her final regular season jump to move into the top 20 marks in the country and qualify for the national championships. The senior just missed out on qualifying for the indoor championships as well, finishing 25th nationally with a school-record height of 3.66m. As a junior, Trimpe jumped 3.65m at the national championships to place 10th in the pole vault, which marks the best field finish for a Hanover female athlete at the NCAA Championships. A multi-time conference champion, Trimpe is also a three-time Indiana Division III champion and record holder, two-time academic all-American and two-time all-region selection.

Senior Brody Dell (Tipton, Ind.) and junior Bradley Murray (Frisco, Texas) shared the 2019 Bill Griffin Mental Attitude Award. Senior Cassidy Evanson (Carmel, Ind.) was the selection for the 2019 Mildred Lemen Mental Attitude Award. Dell was a member of the College's football program, while Murray is on the men's golf team. Evanson recently completed her four-year career with the women's soccer program at Hanover.

SAAB also handed out awards of its own Wednesday evening. The SAAB awards were voted on by the Hanover student-athletes and the winners can be found in the list below.

SAAB Award Winner
Best Teammate Brandi Brock (WSOC)
Team of the Year Football
Play of the Year 4x400m Relay at HCAC (MTRACK)
Best Male Athlete Cam Fails (MBB)
Best Female Athlete Alexis Nall (WBB)
Mental Attitude Fellipe Busato (MSOC)
Best Conference Performance Football wins over Rose-Hulman & Franklin
Best Record-Setting Performance Emma Boomershine (WLAX)
Game of the Year Football vs. Franklin - Victory Bell Game 
Coach of the Year Matt Theobald (FBALL)
Best Faculty Mentor Bill Tereshko, Darrin Rubino
Comeback Athlete of the Year Allison Wiseman (SBALL)
Most Improved Team Football
Behind-the-Scenes Jey Gregory (FBALL)
Madison Barker Courage Award Zeke Porta (BASE)
Scholar Athlete Brett Luker (FBALL)
Behind-the-Scenes Athlete Chris Pitre (MSOC)
Freshmen of the Year Cooper Hanson (MXC, MTRACK), Matt Weimer (FBALL, MBB)
Senior Athlete of the Year Cam Fails (MBB)
Offensive Player of the Year Emma Boomershine (WLAX)
Defensive Player of the Year Myles Joseph (MSOC)
Runner of the Year Arig Tong (WXC, WTRACK)
Field Athlete of the Year Joe Sheryak (MTRACK)
Best Sportsmanship Isaac Hibbard (MBB)
Special Recognition  Alex Makin (Sports Performance Coach)


Contact: Tyler Jester