Cross country hands out annual team awards

Coach Wells, Arig Tong and Jacob Hedrick

HANOVER, Ind. – The Hanover College Men's and Women's Cross Country teams tied a bow on the end of their season this weekend by holding their annual team awards banquet at the Ogle Center on Hanover's campus.

The night was a celebration of various accomplishments from a season that saw two individual athletes qualify for the NCAA DIII National Championship Meet in the same year for the first time ever.

All-conference and honorable mention runners were recognized for their efforts at the HCAC Championship meet including Jacob Hedrick (Memphis, Ind.) who won the event, Hayden Veach (Shelbyville, Ind.) who placed eighth, Ariel Barlow (Francesville, Ind.) who was 13th, and Amanda Stump (Garrett, Ind.) who was 18th. The men's team also placed second at the event while the women were fourth. 

The coach's award for outstanding leadership was presented to senior teammates Morgan Hamilton (Connersville, Ind.) and Matt Young (Carmel, Ind.), while The Lou Knoble Spirit of Cross Country Award was presented to Stump and sophomore harrier Andy Vilardo (Bloomington, Ind.). Hamilton and Young improved consistently and PR'd throughout the year while Vilardo and Stump contributed strong points for the Panthers in every meet they ran.

The Most Valuable Runner awards were presented to Hedrick and Arig Tong (Columbus, Ind.). Hedrick became the first male HCAC individual champion in Hanover school history and the first male national qualifier in school history. Tong, meanwhile, was only the fourth female to qualify for nationals and the lone freshman to hold that honor. She also etched her name onto the all-time list by running the sixth fastest 6k in school history with a time of 22:42.1 and the third fastest 5k with a time of 18:28.4.  

As the semester comes to a close now, the Red and Blue will have their sights set on indoor track season where they will start competing on Jan. 11 at Rose Hulman.

Contact: Logan Wells