Carmosino tabbed Freshman of the Year to headline women's soccer all-conference awards

First team all-conference winners


INDIANAPOLIS – The Hanover women's soccer team received two annual awards to highlight 12 total honors from the Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference on Tuesday, Nov. 6.

The Panthers garnered two of the four annual awards handed out by the conference with Jim Watts being named Coach of the Year and Amanda Carmosino (Noblesville, Ind.) being tabbed Freshman of the Year.

Watts, in his 11th season at the helm of the Panther women's soccer program, guided HC to a 17-2-0 overall record, including an unblemished 9-0-0 mark in HCAC play for the team's fifth regular season conference title in six years. Hanover's 17 wins are the second most all-time for a single season, as the 2013 squad posted an 18-2-2 mark. Since taking over in 2008, Watts now has five Coach of the Year awards and is 151-54-9 overall.

Carmosino is HC's fifth Newcomer of the Year award winner under Watts and the first since Abby Shroyer in 2014. The freshman led the HCAC in goal against average, 0.42, and save percentage, 0.883, with both marks ranking among the top 25 nationally as well. Carmosino tallied nine individual shutouts and was also a part of the team's two additional clean sheets.

Joining Carmosino on the 2018 HCAC first team are midfielders Brandi Brock (Cincinnati, Ohio) and Cassidy Evanson (Carmel, Ind.), as well as senior back Shannon Hawkins (Carmel, Ind.).

Second team selections include junior midfielder Abby Howes (Terre Haute, Ind.), freshman back Bryn Rolfsen (Loveland, Ohio) and freshmen forwards Anna Smith (Cincinnati, Ohio) and Kelsey Hughes (Noblesville, Ind.).

Rounding out the awards for Hanover are backs Abby Daley (Franklin, Ohio) and Lizzie Matchett (Liberty Township, Ohio). Daley was tabbed to the honorable mention team, while Matchett was Hanover's selection for the Christopher M. Ragsdale Sportsmanship Award.

The core four in the backline -- Daley, Hawkins, Matchett and Rolfsen -- led the team to a season goal against average of 0.58, which tops the conference and is inside the top 35 in Division III. The defensive unit has also conceded just over eight shots per game, including 3.68 on goal. Overall, HC posted 11 shutouts and touted a .071 opponents' shot percentage.

After being named to the second team in 2017, Brock and Evanson are on the first team this fall. This is Brock's first time on the top squad, while Evanson, who is now a four-time all-HCAC selection, is picking up her second first team accolade. Brock's junior season saw her pace the Panthers in goals (9) and points (25), both of which were inside the top six in the conference. The junior also tied for the team lead and ranked third in the HCAC with seven assists. Brock was strong down the stretch, scoring at least one point in six of the final eight games, including the regular season meeting at Mount St. Joseph, where she scored the game-winning penalty kick in double-overtime, securing HC the regular season conference title.

Evanson posted a career-high six goals in her final collegiate campaign. The senior added two assists as well for 14 total points. All three of her scoring totals were higher than her 2017 marks, which earned her United Soccer Coaches all-region honors.

Joining Brock and Evanson in the midfield this season was Howes. The junior logged two goals, one assist and five total points to pick up her first all-conference award. Howes also notched the game-winning goal in a 3-0 decision at Anderson.

The forward combo of Smith and Hughes were spectacular in their first collegiate seasons. Smith was second on the team with 21 total points, as she recorded eight goals and five assists. Hughes' strong start led to six goals and 19 total points, as she also tied for the team-lead with seven helpers. The freshmen pair combined for five game-winning goals as well.

Hanover's season came to an end in the HCAC Tournament Championship, where they suffered their only regulation loss of the season. The Panthers also set a program record for longest winning streak and unbeaten streak, which now stands at 17 matches.

Contact: Tyler Jester