Cross Country Hands Out Annual Team Awards

Cross Country Hands Out Annual Team Awards

HANOVER, Ind. – The Hanover College men's and women's cross-country team wrapped up the season this weekend by holding their annual team awards banquet.

The night was a celebration of the teams 2019 accomplishments that saw sophomore Arig Tong (Columbus, Ind.) advance to her second consecutive NCAA DIII Cross Country National Championship meet.

Hanover recognized their all-conference honorees for their efforts at the HCAC Championship including Tong who claimed a second-place finish, Hayden Veach (Shelbyville, Ind.) with a second-place mark, sophomore Brianna Medcalf (Central, Ind.) finishing fourth, senior Caitlyn Naghdi (Carmel, Ind.) with a sixth-place finish, sophomore Sawyer Osmun (Fishers, Ind.) in 14th and senior Ariel Barlow (Francesville, Ind.) with a 19th place mark. The women also finished second at the event while the men took fourth overall.

The Richard Naylor Coaches' Award was presented to junior Andy Vilardo (Bloomington, Ind.) and Medcalf, while the Lou Knoble Spirit of Cross Country Award was presented to freshman Michael Taylor (Anderson, Ind.) and senior Madison VanWinkle (Moores Hill, Ind.).

The Most Valuable Runner Awards were presented to Veach and Tong. Veach garnered All-HCAC honors after finishing runner-up at the HCAC Championships. He also ran a strong race as part of the NCAA Great Lakes Regional hosted by Calvin University where he finished 80th overall in a time of 25:01.61. Tong registered back-to-back National Championship appearances after earning All-Region honors with an 11th place mark running her fastest 6k race to-date.

The Panthers also recognized the teams' success in the classroom with sophomore Gabe Beatty (Fountain City, Ind.), junior Andrew Clegg (Indianapolis, Ind.) and freshman Leah Anders (Rising Sun, Ind.) all garnering HCAC All-Academic accolades.

As the semester comes to a close, the Blue and Red will begin focusing on the indoor track and field season where they will start competition on Friday, Jan. 17 at Rose-Hulman.